Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to Math2.0
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorFC
    • CommentTimeMar 7th 2012
    Dear All,
    I am an editor of the Journal of Number Theory (an Elsevier journal). I will have the opportunity to attend an Elsevier meeting which has been arranged
    (in part) to address issues related to the boycott. The agenda of the meeting is as follows:

- How to make the journal more accessible
    o Steps taken by Elsevier
    o What else is needed to take away concerns around accessibility of the journal
    - JNT subscription prices
    o Steps taken by Elsevier
    - What is the overall impact of decreased list prices
    o what else is needed to take away concerns around pricing
    - "bundling"
    o Explanation by Laura/David what this actually means for customers
    o What else is needed to take away concerns around pricing
    - Elsevier's image in the maths community
    o how can we improve
    - RWA
    - Ethics
    o Explanation by Laura/David of lessons learned from the past and
    o actions taken
    - What else is needed to provide full transparency
    - How can we work in tandem with the maths community

I would like to go to this meeting "better informed" about some specific details.

For example, do all/most/many libraries purchase Elsevier journals through bundling?
    Is there accurate price information about the cost of particular Elsevier math journals (if they
    are bundled, the numbers available may essentially be phony)?

Any suggestions for questions I should consider asking are welcome.